

The Fungicide Resistance Action Group (FRAG) constitution and membership

1.0 Name

The name of the organisation is 'Fungicide Resistance Action Group - UK', to be known as FRAG – UK.

2.0 Aims and Objectives

- 2.1 To gather and interpret information on fungicide resistance and its management and arrive at a UK consensus view.
- 2.2 To promote practical guidance on the status and management of fungicide resistance in the UK.
- 2.3 To indicate to funding bodies areas where research and development are required.
- 2.4 To provide an interface between industry's Fungicide Resistance Action Committee (FRAC), official bodies and independent research organisations.
- 2.5 To produce, publish and promote educational material that will assist in the understanding of and reduce the incidence of resistance in plant pathogens.

3.0 Membership

Membership of FRAG-UK shall comprise a Chairman, Secretary, Members and Specialist Members.

Members shall include representatives from: Crop Protection Association, Fungicide Resistance Action Committee, agronomists, independent research, England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland regulatory authorities.

Specialist Members will represent sectors of fungicide use that are unlikely to be discussed at all meetings. They will have the same status as other members but will only be expected to attend meetings where issues relevant to their specialist area are on the agenda.

The maximum size of the group, including Specialist Members, should not exceed 25. The group may invite non-members on an ad-hoc basis. Overall the group should be balanced, in terms of its sector representation, such that no single sector holds a majority membership.

Current membership

- F Burnett Chair (SRUC, Fiona.Burnett@sruc.ac.uk)
- N Paveley (ADAS)
- K Maguire (Bayer CropScience)
- M Thompson (AICC)
- J Turner (Fera)
- R Dyason (Nu Farm)
- G Kemmitt (Corteva)
- J Clarkson (University of Warwick)
- I Kovalova (Corteva)
- J Tatnell (Syngenta)
- S Kildea (Teagasc)
- A Bailey (Adama)
- P Kowalski (BASF)
- A O'Driscoll (NIAB)
- T Fleming (AFBI)
- D Howard (Farmacy)
- M Grimmer (ADAS)
- J Cheesman (Certis Belchim)
- C Harries (AHDB)
- L Cooke (Queens University, Belfast)

4.0 Appointments

4.1 The Chairman and Secretary shall be appointed on the recommendation and by majority agreement of the Membership. They shall be appointed to serve for a maximum of five years. The Chairman and Secretary should not both retire at the same meeting but should allow an interval of two meetings of the Group to pass. The Chairman and Secretary will normally be appointed from an independent organisation.

4.2 Members and Specialist Members shall be invited from within their respective groups. The Chairman and Secretary shall review their membership, every three years and, if necessary, seek replacements.

5.0 Meetings

Normally two meetings of the Group will be held each year at a venue decided at the previous meeting. Individuals can be invited to meetings for their expertise.

6.0 Funding

FRAG-UK has no source of funds and is beholden to the organisations supporting the members for their time, travel and subsistence and meeting rooms and to independent funding bodies for publications.

ahdb.org.uk/knowledge-library/frag